Date Posted... Apr 27th 2021
Unveiled on 5 December 1919 by Major G.R. Gilpin (TS 1907-14), brother of R. Gilpin named on the memorial.
The memorial was described in the school magazine as
classic in design and composed entirely of well-seasoned oak. It is of massive proportion, being just over seven feet in width. The upper portion is richly moulded and very ornate in detail. Crisply carved festoons of conventional laurel support the School arms, which are carved in full relief and emblazoned. On a panel below, in raised and gilded characters, occur the list of honoured names. Surrounding the panel is a delicately carved running ornament of unique design. Carved acanthus leaf corbels support the Tablet. The Memorial has been executed in the studios of Messrs. Harry Hems and Sons, sculptors, of Exeter, from the design prepared by Mr A.J. Cornelius, M.S.A. Architect, Truro.
Three names were omitted from the memorial: A. Christien, A.E.T.H. Varcoe and H.L. Whitburn.