Notable Old Truronians

Truro School has been the starting point for many Old Truronian’s who have gone on to gain notoriety in some sense or another. Whilst we are proud of every pupil who attends the School, these are the individuals who we wish to share their achievements with to our wider community due to their contribution in their field or due to any significant honours bestowed upon them.

In alphabetical order

Michael Adams CO90 (TS 1983-90)

Chess grandmaster, seven-time British Chess Champion


Sir Ben Ainslie CBE CO95 (TS 1985-93)

Gold medal sailing Olympian


Jess Alderson CO08 (2001-08) & Lou Alderson CO11 (2004-11)

Co-founders of the dating app So Syncd


David Andrew (TS 1946-52)



Ros Atkins CO93 (TS 1986-93)          

BBC journalist and broadcaster


Jonathan Ball CO65 (TS 1958-65)

Architect, Eden Project


Fran Brown CO03 (TS 1996-2003)

Paralympic climber, triathlete, cyclist


John Kendall Carpenter (TS 1939-43)

England rugby player and captain, President of RFU, Chair of World Cup Organising Committee


Professor Sir John Curtice CO72 (1965-73)

Political analyst and scientist, professor of politics at Strathclyde University

Christopher Davies (TS 1957-64)

Sailor, gold medal Olympian 1972


Ann Glaze (nee Gripper) CO98 (TS 1991-98)

Senior editor at Reach plc (the Mirror, West Briton etc.), host of the Mirror’s royal themed podcast ‘Pod Save the Queen’


Julia Goldsworthy CO97 (TS 1990-97)

Former Liberal Democrat MP


Laura Harper CO02 (TS 1995-2000)

Former England cricketer


James Hawes CO82 (TS 1975-82)

TV and film director – Dr Who, Black Mirror, Snowpiercer, Enid, The 39 Steps, Penny Dreadful, The Suspicions of Mr Whicher, Merlin, The Alienist


Nigel Haywood CO73 (TS 1966-74)

Former Governor of the Falkland Islands, diplomat


Geoffrey Healey (TS 1931-34)

Car engineer and designer, Donald Healey Motor Company


Derek Holman (TS 1942-48)

Composer, conductor and organist


Christian Huband CO92 (TS 1985-92)

Art director, set design, illustrator, visual effects – Munich, Matrix Reloaded, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Alexander, The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe, Hugo, Elizabeth: The Golden Age

Rt Rev Joseph Hunkin OBE (TS 1896-1903)

Bishop of Truro


Ellen Husain CO94 (TS 1992-94)

TV Director / Producer – The Hunt, Ocean Giants, Life Story and writer for BBC Wildlife Magazine


Thomas Kendall CO05 (TS 1991-2005)

Landscape, art and architectural artist


Benjamin Luxon CBE (TS 1948-55)

Baritone, International opera singer


Sir Archie Marshall (TS 1911-17)

QC, high court judge, known for presiding over the trial of Stephen Ward in 1963


David Menhennet CB (TS 1940-47)

Librarian of House of Commons Library


Jeremy Mills CO77 (TS 1970-77)

TV director / producer. Founder and MD of Lion Television; Chairman of Woodcut Media and Anthology Studios


Paul Myners CBE CO66 (TS 1956-66)

Lord Myners of Truro, influential businessman and former government minister


Lucy Nethsingha CO91 (TS 1989-91)

Former MEP; Liberal Democrat leader of Cambridgeshire County Council

Alan Opie OBE (TS 1956-63)

Baritone, international opera singer


Kirit Patel MBE CO69 (TS 1967-69)

Founder and CEO of Day Lewis Pharmacy


David Penhaligon (TS 1955-60)

A leading Liberal MP before his death in 1986


John Rhys Davies (TS 1955-62)

Actor – Indiana Jones, Lord of the Rings, The Living Daylights, I, Claudius, The Princess Diaries


Robert Shaw (TS 1939-45)

Actor – Jaws, The Sting, A Man for All Seasons, From Russia with Love


Talan Skeels-Piggins CO89 (TS 1982-89)

Paralympic skier, Motorcycle World Champion and children’s author


Rt Rev WP Stephens (TS 1945-52)

President of the Methodist Conference, Bishop of the Methodist Church in The Gambia


Tassy Swallow CO12 (TS 2005-07)

Professional surfer, British Champion

Roger Taylor OBE CO67 (TS 1960-68)

Queen drummer, vocalist, songwriter


Nigel Terry (TS 1956-63)

Actor – Excalibur, The Lion in Winter, Caravaggio, Troy, Far from the Madding Crowd, Waking the Dead, Dr Who


Sir Patrick Vallance KCB FRS FMedSci FRCP HonFREng CO78 (TS 1973-78)

Chief Scientific Adviser to the UK Government


Luke Vibert CO91 (TS 1984-91)

Electronic musician and producer – Wagon Christ

Former staff


Kenneth Pelmear (TS 1959-80)

Musician and composer


Andy Mulligan (TS 1995-2002)

Author, best known for young adult fiction