Date Posted... Nov 28th 2016



National Schools' Badminton Success

Truro School did exceptionally well in the area (Peninsula) round of the National Schools’Badminton Championships held in the Sir Ben Ainslie centre at Truro School last week.


120 pupils from 7 schools (Penryn, Penair, Richard Lander, Helston, Falmouth, Camborne and Truro School) competed and over 200 matches were played.

In Truro School’s most successful ever area tournament all four of our A teams won Gold medals and go on to represent the area in both Key Stage 3(Under 14) and Key Stage 4 (Under 16) Boys’ and Girls’ County Finals to be held at Truro School in the last week of term when they will play off against the champions of the other three county areas, with the winners of those events going on to the South West Regional Finals next term.

Perhaps an even more encouraging aspect of Truro School’s overall performance on the day was the fact that our B Teams reached three of the four finals and our Key stage 3 Boys B team which was represented by four First Years in a Third Year event won all but one game losing to Camborne School who were then defeated by the Truro School A team in the final.


Under 14 Girls A Team (Key stage 3 Girls’ Winners)

Nila Kandasamy (Captain)

Joanna Vyvyan

Elizabeth Straw

Rosie Bartlett

Nancy Read

Under 14 Boys A Team (Key stage 3 Boys’ Winners)

Alexander Beaumont

Ashay Divekar

Jack Ovens (Captain)

Jason Ayliffe

James Wright


 Under 16 Girls A Team (Key Stage 4 Girls’ Winners)

Melissa Lin

Aabha Mate (Captain)

Zoe Meads

Sophie Clark

Under 16 Boys A Team (Key stage 4 Boys’ Winners)

Fred Bareham

Oscar Pringle (Captain)

Charlie Armstrong

Charlie Standen

Luke Elliott